The Student Newsroom immerses undergraduate and graduate college students in a digital media environment by providing hands-on experience during the three-day Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet. Supported for the sixth year by Google, these 20 select students will produce content for the ONA15 website before and during the conference under the personal guidance of professional mentors.

2015 Student Newsroom


Sneha Antony


Columbia Journalism School


Karishma Asoodani


St.Francis College for Women


Shuyao Chen


Penn State University


Tracy Cook


University of Missouri

Meghan Coyle

Meghan Coyle


University of Southern California


Dakota Crawford


Ball State University


Nathalie Dortonne


University of Florida


Jessie Gomez


Azusa Pacific University


Cassandra Jaramillo


The University of Texas at Austin


Haiyun Jiang


Boston University


Jeremy C.F. Lin


University of California, Berkeley, Graduate School of Journalism


Katy Mersmann


University of Missouri


Neha Ramani


Indiana University


Ernesto Rivera


California State University, Chico


Christina Romualdo


Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning


Genevieve Scarano


Boston University College of Communication


Andrew Silver


University of Florida


Kendall Trammell


University of Georgia


Kenneth Ware Jr.


Texas Southern University


Ashleigh Wilson


North Carolina A&T State University



Michelle Johnson, Associate Professor of the Practice, Multimedia Journalism, Boston University
Katia Hetter,Writer/Producer,

Peg Achterman, Assistant Professor, Seattle Pacific University
Amara Augliar, Associate Professor, USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
Chris Canipe, Interactive Graphics Editor, The Wall Street Journal
Matthew Caruana Galizia, News developer, International Consortium of Investigative Journalists
Curt Chandler, Senior Lecturer /Multimedia, Penn State University
Bonnie Layton, Lecturer, Indiana University
Talya Minsberg, Social Strategy Editor, The New York Times
Amalie Nash, Executive Editor, Des Moines Register
Madison Park, Digital News Producer, CNN International
Darleene Powells, Online Producer, CBS
Lori Shontz, Journalism Instructor, University of Oregon
Ingrid Sturgis, Associate Professor, Howard University
Leezel Tanglao, Senior Multi-platform Editor, CNNMoney
Ryan Thornburg, Associate Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sarah Tuley, Digital Content Producer, Corpus Christi Caller-Times
Carlos Virgen, Digital News Director, The Day
William Wolfe-Wylie, Editorial Web Developer, CBC
Mason Wright, Digital Content Editor, The Globe and Mail

More Info

Students get the chance to attend ONA15 programming led by experts in digital journalism, network with attendees and acquire and flex new digital media skills. All expenses — lodging, travel and registration fees — are paid.

Twenty Student Newsroom mentors with digital skills have an opportunity to guide one to two students before and during the conference, working one-on-one with them to help develop story ideas and advise coverage production. Mentors receive free conference registration. They also have a chance to pay it forward, shaping the skills of tomorrow’s leaders in digital journalism.